Anders Eliasson was born in 1947 in the province of Dalecarlia in Sweden.
From 1966 – 1972 he  studied at the Royal College of Music in Stockholm with among others Ingvar Lidholm (composition) and Valdemar Söderholm (harmony and counterpoint).

As far back as the 70s Eliasson was recognized as one of the most interesting Swedish composers. His orchestral works Canto in Lontanza (1977), Turnings (1978) and Canto del vagabondo (1979) were particularly acclaimed, as well as the wind quintet La fièvre (1978) and the whole series of shorter instrumental solo pieces called Disegno.

By the mid-eighties his oeuvre was already quite extensive and it soon became apparent that in Eliasson Sweden had a composer of international potential.
In 1987 came his true breakthrough with the premiere of his Symphony No. 1 for which he received a number of awards.
In the summer of 1991 Eliasson was invited to the Lapland Festival in Arjeplog as Composer-in-Residence, where his piano quartet Fogliame (1990) and his String Quartet (1991) were premiered, and in 1993 he was appointed guest professor of composition at the Sibelius Academy in Helsinki.

Works which have attracted attention during the late 80s and the 90s include Intermezzi (1988), Symphony no. 3 (1989), and the concertos for horn: Farfalle e ferro (1992), for clarinet: Sette Passaggi (1992) and for violin (1993) – all written for internationally acclaimed Swedish or Finnish soloists: Sören Hermansson (horn), Håkan Rosengren (clarinet) and Jari Valo (violin).

In 1996 the Stockholm International Composer Festival at the Stockholm Concert Hall, which today is reckoned as one of the most important annual events in Swedish Musical life, was devoted to Anders Eliasson.  No less than 37 works by Eliasson were performed.

On 18 December 1998 the magnificent oratorio Dante Anarca was premiered at the Berwald Hall in Stockholm. The oratorio consists of 7 movements, which span over eighty-five minutes, and was Eliasson’s first large scale work with vocal soloists, choir and orchestra. Although the score is extensive Eliasson is here partly starting out on a new path where the complexity is exchanged by an almost classical purity; the music is beautiful and songful.  

From the year 2000 another three concertos has followed; Concerto per trombone, dedicated to Christian Lindberg, Concerto for Alto-saxophone and Strings for John-Edward Kelly and the exquisite Concerto for Violin, Piano and orchestra (2005)premiered by Ulf Wallin and Roland Pöntinen.
New string orchestral works include the monumental Sinfonia per archi (2001), commissioned for the 30th anniversary of the Ostrobothnian Chamber Orchestra and
Ein schneller Blick, ein kurzes Aufscheinen  from 2003.

His latest major orchestra work is his Symphony No. 4 which was premiered by the Bavarian Symphony Orchestra under Christoph Poppen in Munich in January 2007.

At present Anders Eliasson is working on an oratorio Quo Vadis for the Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra, choir and soloists to be premiered at the Berwald Hall in Stockholm in 2009.

Selected Awards:

•    The Christ Johnson Prize 1977 and 1983
•    The Hilding Rosenberg Prize 1987
•    The Nordic Council Music Prize 1992
•    The Royal Swedish Academy of Music’s Medal For the Promotion of the Art of Music 2006
•    Swedish Music Publishers Prize 2007